Scooter vs Japan

Meeting the locals | August 17, 2009

I really hope 4am blogging doesn;t become a habit…

Anyways, I decided while I couldn’t sleep to start doing random google searches about Japan.  I found a small forum on Japan Guide about the area I’m heading to. Mostly, it was locals looking to meet people (mostly language exchange) and a few people posting wondering why on earth they can;t find a single word on Hirakata City. Anyways, I replies to a few of the classifieds. Here’s hoping that I can strike something off with some of the people, and actually know someone when I get to Japan.

Also (notice I clicked the “Gaming” tag), I seem to have found a few possible outlets for playing Warhammer. I stumbled across a YahooGroup of gamers in Japan. I also found a forum post about a guy who’s getting back into Warhammer and is currently in the same area. Here’s hoping. Maybe I can even find someone who will take me to Japan Game Con 😛

Still no word on my Speech Partner application. I sent the person an e-mail asking if things were ok on their end (the attached application form didn’t work at first). I haven’t heard about my In-Laws either (I’m calling the weekend host family my In-Laws; I have too many dads already). But I’m not expecting to hear about that until after I land.

T-11 days (or something like that).


Posted in Gaming, Living

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment

About author

Scooter is an ESL teacher and Japanese anthropologist. He hopes to document his thoughts of living in Japan, continued cultural studies, and to provide advice for others looking to hop the pond.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds