Scooter vs Japan

School Developments | September 16, 2009

So my life here is mental and shiny. Sorry for the lack of posts.

Anyways, I think I have my courses finally figured out. After some switching, struggling, and a little brown nosing, I’m basically in the calsses I want to be in. I’m taking:

  • Japanese (2 classes, 2nd year equivelant, boring as sin);
  • Body and Communication in Japan (where we also learn some Japanese Sign Language);
  • Shinto (where we spent 2 hours talking about phalic symbols and racism).

Things are going well so far. I also seem to have cracked the seal on disabilities accomodations. Its hard to explain, but this could mean a huge jump in accessability to travel abroad for students with learning disabilities.

Also, while I was talking with a friend today, a Japanese student approached us and asked if either of us would be willing to tutor him. So after less than 3 weeks of being here, I have found a job (and a legit one too).

The last crazy thing is that there is a professor from Boston (I think) doing a linguistics experiment here, and is paying students about $60 to partake. I was planning to participate anyways, and extra money is icing on the cake. Word is abuzz here about money and experimentation, so we’ll see how that goes.

Stay tuned for a less boring post about the crazy weekend exploration I did on Saturday, my plans for the 5 days I have off of school  this weekend, and how I’m planning to make an Astro Boy costume for Halloween but don’t want to look like a hooker.

Posted in School

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

Scooter is an ESL teacher and Japanese anthropologist. He hopes to document his thoughts of living in Japan, continued cultural studies, and to provide advice for others looking to hop the pond.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

