Scooter vs Japan

I’ve been adopted! | November 17, 2009

So I’ll skip over the usual bitching about how school is stealing my youth, or about how all of my friends think I have Swine Flu, and get down to the juicy bits.

The University I am attending has all of these great cultural programs I didn’t get into. One such is the Home Visit program. Here, dorm-living folks can meet and stay with a Japanese family on a temporary basis. They can visit on weekends and learn about Japanese home life, family dynamics, and so cool things that all their foreign friends wish they could be doing. But enough about how the universe is out to get me.

I tried desperately to explain the whole thing to my non-English speaking friend, and asked if his family would adopt me (yes, I used the work adopt. It was very funny). While we were out today, unsuccessfully finding  a reasonably priced wallet that I could buy, I asked him over dinner if he’d talked to his parents yet. He said that it was ok, and wanted to learn more about my adoption plans.

At the moment, I’m looking at going over there for the first weekend in December. I’m going to ask if I can visit them every month on the first weekend (keep it simple). I’m really excited.

In other news, I’m currently looking for an apartment for Christmas and next semester. Dorm life retardedness aside, the move out and move in procedure over the Winter break and for next semester is extremely complicated. For example, I would have to move out of this dorm on Dec 24 and move into a different one for Dec 25, thus needed a place to stay for the night. Aside from packing up everything, including food and dishes that I have bought, I would then have to turn around in late Jan or early Feb and move back here. It is a giant pain in the ass, and I’d rather not do that.

Instead, I’m looking at a few options for apartments. One of the reality companies here offers temporary apartments, specifically for foreign students at this school. Unfortunately, the process is no less complicated, the apartment needs to be paid for upfront, and the cost can varies from expensive to poverty inducing. They have other, cheaper apartments as well (just not in the info package they gave us), so it isn’t a complete loss.

I also have received some info from the school about 2 staff that offer space for students (one is a house. Rad). I talked to a guy that lives in my building (who is also interested in moving out of the dorms) about going in one either the house that is offered, or talking with the realty company about a 2 bedroom unit.

In other, other news, I have defeated Japan ever so slightly. I have found the illusive, high quality Orgiami book I have been looking for. They are a rare breed, sticking mostly to small bookstores and specialty shops. They are also shy, and scurry away when you try to approach… You get the idea. It has been ridiculously hard finding good Origami books here, which was quite surprising. The majority I’ve found are simply kids books. But none the less, I have found a good book with ridiculously complex models in it (such as the cool looking Samurai Helmet, and the 50-some step penguin). After I’ve made a few models out of the books (and maybe found some nice paper), I’ll post some pics.

Posted in Living

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

Scooter is an ESL teacher and Japanese anthropologist. He hopes to document his thoughts of living in Japan, continued cultural studies, and to provide advice for others looking to hop the pond.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

