Scooter vs Japan

Landed and exhausted | August 5, 2015

This’ll be pretty short, since I’m very, very tired. I’ve been in Japan for a few days now. Having finished our two day orientation and work seminar, I finally landed in Hokkaido. As expected, C and Mr. K were waiting at the airport. After super awesome Mr. K bought us lunch, we drove the 2.5 is hour drive home. We also stopped for ice cream (mmm… ice cream).

First Impressions

First off, C was crazy excited to see me, and Mr. K was pretty easy going and funny. C provided most of the translation, but we did talk a little bit as I tried to use me bruised, battered, and atrophied Japanese.

As for the drive through Hokkaido to reach Kamikawa-cho, the landscape reminds me a lot of Prince Edward Island. This was pretty funny, since I thought Tokyo seemed like Montreal. For Hokkaido, there were a lot of super small rural areas with houses loosely grouped together, not unlike the very small towns one might see in PEI. There was also a lot of liberties taken with house colors, so I saw bright blue, yellow, and other vibrant coloured houses.

Kamikawa-cho is crazy small. It was raining pretty hard when we pulled in, and we were rushing off for dinner, so I obviously didn’t see much (especially since I’d only just arrived).

Home Sweet Homu

We also went to my apartment for the quickest tour and move in ever. There is a lot of space for such a typically small place. C had left me a number of things and the BOE bought a bunch of furniture for me so I’d have somewhere to sleep and a place to sit down. I can’t wait to get settled and to start plugging some of the holes as far as possessions go.

Meeting

I  met a few of the BOE staff over dinner and drinks. It was really tough due to the massive dehydration I’ve been going through. See, we couldn’t have food or water anywhere in the hotel except the dining rooms and our own rooms. And the tight schedule kept us on our toes, leaving us little time to rest and recover. This meant that very few of us got all the water our bodies needed, meaning I had to be super careful tonight.

Anyways, every one was pretty welcoming and entertaining. C couldn’t remember the names of everyone (since he hasn’t worked too closely with many of them, and he told me that he didn’t know all of his students’ names. If a 5 year JET can’t do it, that takes the edge and expectations off.

Bed Time

I think that’s it for now. I’m about to pass out right here, so excuse me while I post and run. I’m going to be writing up a break down of orientation and tips about it. And obviously, I plan to say more about my town and job, but that’s going to take a little while.

So that’s all for now. I hope I can get something more meaningful up in the next few days, but now I’m still wiped right out. Till next time.

Posted in JET, Living

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

Scooter is an ESL teacher and Japanese anthropologist. He hopes to document his thoughts of living in Japan, continued cultural studies, and to provide advice for others looking to hop the pond.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

